The Zodiac Anthology!

Aussie Speculative Fiction has published two of my short stories; ‘The Bindi’ in the Cancer Anthology and ‘Caveat Emptor’ in the Leo Anthology. There’s a collection for every star sign, which I think is pretty cool.

‘The Bindi’ is a story about a water-nymph that saves unsuspecting townsfolk from drowning in the river, who never remember her. I wrote it for my mermaid-loving sister, who is also a Cancer, so the fact that I got it published in a Cancer Anthology is perfect!

I worked on ‘Caveat Emptor’ for seven years. I was fifteen when I wrote the first draft – an 80 000 word manuscript. I looked back on it a few years later and decided my writing skills had grown and I still loved those characters, so they were reimagined into a short story set in post-apocalyptic Perth Underground Station. I like to think that it happens in the same universe as Mad Max. You can read the first half on my website here: Prose – Emily Siggs – Writer (wordpress.com)

The Cancer Anthology: Cancer (The Zodiac Series #7) by Austin P. Sheehan (goodreads.com)

The Leo Anthology: Leo | Universal Book Links Help You Find Books at Your Favorite Store! (books2read.com)

And if any godforsaken soul actually finds and reads ‘Caveat Emptor’, please let me know if you laughed. Is Rhona not somehow hilarious? I didn’t work on it for seven years for nothing!

Leave a comment