Flash mobs galore!

I’ve been very busy engaging in environmental activism and studying my Honours this year, so I haven’t posted much, but I’m delighted to share some creative works outside of the medium of writing I had the joy of creating.

The first ever flash mob I choreographed was to this beautiful song by the Oh Hellos, ‘On the Mountain Tall’. The energy in the video just makes me so happy.

The second was this hilariously fun Mad Max themed ‘Discobedience’ dance. Environmental group XRWA North of the River asked me to choreograph it for them, and not only did we have a great time, but so did the passerbys, who smiled or stopped to take pictures.

For the final flash mob for the year, I collected the stories of four young people impacted by the climate crisis and, with permission, played their stories over music – Venxeto’s ‘Shifting Winds’. We performed for Sacred People, Sacred Earth day at Kattagarup (King’s Park) and Elder Auntie Mingli welcomed us to country. 473 other actions were held across the world.

With all these creative endeavors, I had to take a bit of a break from my creative writing. But never fear! I have some stories in the works that I hope will blossom soon.

These dances took place on Wadjuk Noongar boodja. This is sacred land, and sovereignty was never ceded. I acknowledge the Elders from koora-koora past to yeyi.

Leave a comment